Assembly of First Nations

55 Metcalfe Street, Suite 1600 Ottawa, Ontario K1P 6L5 Telephone: 613-241-6789 Fax: 613-241-5808 www.afn.ca



Assemblée des Premières Nations

55, rue Metcalfe, Suite 1600 Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 6L5 Téléphone: 613-241-6789 Télécopieur: 613-241-5808 www.afn.ca

ANNUAL GENERAL ASSEMBLY JULY 25, 26, & 27, 2017, REGINA, SK

Resolution no. 48/2017

TITLE:	Opposition to Nuclear Waste Disposal and Abandonment
SUBJECT:	Nuclear Waste, Environment
MOVED BY:	Chief R. Donald Maracle, Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte, ON
SECONDED BY:	Chief Elaine Johnston, Serpent River First Nation, ON
DECISION	Carried by Consensus

WHEREAS:

- A. The United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples states:
 - i. Article 29 (2): States shall take effective measures to ensure that no storage or disposal of hazardous materials shall take place in the lands or territories of indigenous peoples without their free, prior and informed consent.
- **B.** The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission and Natural Resources Canada have failed their constitutional duty to consult and accommodate the Anishinabek Nation and other First Nations regarding storage and operations at the Canadian Nuclear Laboratories Near Surface Disposal Facility and Chalk River Laboratories.
- C. The Anishinabek Nation and Chiefs of Ontario released the following resolutions to demonstrate the unified opposition to nuclear waste activities: AN 2010/30: Environmental Protection Against Nuclear Waste; AN 2015-14: Continued Opposition to Nuclear Waste Storage within the Anishinabek Nation; AN 2016-16: Re-statement of the Opposition to Nuclear Waste Storage within the Anishinabek Nation Territory; AN 2017-05: Collaboration on the Opposition of Transportation and Abandonment of Radioactive Waste; and COO 59/16: Nuclear Power Generation and Nuclear Waste Repository.

Certified copy of a resolution adopted on the 27th of July 2017 in Regina, Saskatchewan

egende

PERRY BELLEGARDE, NATIONAL CHIEF

48 – 2017 Page 1 of 2

Head Office/Siège Social

ANNUAL GENERAL ASSEMBLY JULY 25, 26, & 27, 2017, REGINA, SK

Resolution no. 48/2017

- D. The Anishinabek Nation and Iroquois Caucus made a Radioactive Waste Joint Declaration that outlines their united and collective position based on shared concerns about the transportation, storage, and abandonment of radioactive waste within our territories. Specifically, this Declaration noted that "We have our own territories and exercise our jurisdiction on a Nation-to-Nation basis. We draw on sacred law, traditional law, customary laws we need to protect the lands, waters and all living things for future generations."
- **E.** The five principles of the declaration include: 1) No abandonment; 2) Better containment, more packaging; 3) Monitored and retrievable storage; 4) Away from major water bodies; and 5) No imports or exports.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Chiefs-in-Assembly:

- 1. Demand that free, prior and informed consent is required to ensure that no storage or disposal of hazardous materials shall take place in First Nations lands and territories.
- Direct the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) to urge the federal government to fulfill its duty to consult and
 accommodate and obtain the free prior and informed consent of the Anishinabek Nation and other First Nations
 regarding activity at the Canadian Nuclear Laboratories and Chalk River Laboratories.
- 3. Direct the Iroquois Caucus, Anishinabek Nation and other First Nations to form an adhoc group with the Chiefs of Ontario and report back to Chiefs-in-Assembly on progress made with the federal government, as often as possible, beginning with the December 2017 AFN Special Chiefs Assembly.

Certified copy of a resolution adopted on the 27th of July 2017 in Regina, Saskatchewan